Skip to content

It’s Like a Mini Vacation

January 12, 2010

Retreating in our brand new master suite is like taking a mini vacation.  Seriously.  I’ve heard people “argue” one way or another about painting walls gray, but I know exactly where I stand.  Gray walls are serene–they’re tranquil–they’re peaceful.  And they add exactly the relaxation that we need at the end of a long day.

While the quality workmanship on the wall was hard to demo (uhh…yeah…notice how you can see where the arch used to be), we saw the light at the end of the tunnel and headed straight for it.

And while there were moments that I stood there wondering what exactly we had gotten ourselves into, I have to admit that I enjoyed the process.

I can’t tell you how grateful I am that this pile was only in our master bedroom for a little while.

And while the drywall repair and knockdown texture both proved to be quite tedious, I’ve been told that patience is a virtue.

And of course, the reward is priceless when I walk into our bedroom every night and think to myself, “How did I get here?”  And without further ado, I present the after.  The first picture gives a good feel for how the accent wall turned out.

And while no project is ever quite finished when you own your own home, I think it’s safe to say that we are officially “settled” into our master suite.

And for those of you that are observant, you probably noticed the next two projects:

  1. Purchase or make some curtains.  Right now we have black sheers on both windows and red curtains on one–but didn’t have enough to do the other window.
  2. Fill up those walls!!  We already have some frames and pictures in mind, but just haven’t had the time to get around to it yet.

As soon as the projects are in progress, we’ll let you know!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    January 14, 2010 7:53 pm

    Absolutely stunning…gorgeous…beautiful…nothing more need be said!

    • January 14, 2010 8:13 pm

      I’m so glad you like it. It’s so fantastic to have that little chair with the side table. I walked into the master last night and Chris was sitting in the chair reading one of his books for school. When we crawled in bed he said, “I love this room. It’s so relaxing.”

Leave a Reply

