Skip to content

Ding, Ding, Ding!

January 19, 2010

It’s a phrase that I finally feel has been uttered almost enough in our home.  It’s the call that we make when we empty another box.  We can be heard screaming it from one end of the house to the other as we’ve knocked more and more boxes off of the list.

And, we completed our final “Ding, ding, ding” call in the dining room the other day—which means that we have some fantastic after pictures to show you.

Before:

And after:

We’re still debating with how we want to “treat” the sliding glass door.  We have some green, full-length curtains that we used to have in the dining room at the rental, but now Chris and I are having a debate: “Do you put curtains in front of a sliding glass door?”  While both of our sliders had curtains at the rental, it was more a matter of need than a matter of desire.  With massive sliding glass doors offering anybody (read: our backyard neighbors with a two story house) a view into our kitchen, dining room, and living room, we decided we had to have curtains.  Now that we have the option because of the privacy in our backyard, we’re up in the air.  We’re certainly interested in hearing your thoughts on the matter…and once we make a decision we will let you know if the dining room is officially done, or if there will be some curtains gracing the slider.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    January 20, 2010 8:34 am

    So, I have lived in my house for a little over two years now and haven’t figured out what to do in terms of curtains/window treatments over my french doors to the backyard. Unless you think that they look naked and need something, I would probably leave them untreated. Afterall, it is a little darker in that room and the window treatments would block out what little light is in there…and it feels pretty private back there so you shouldn’t get neighbors peering in and inviting themselves to dinner.

    • January 20, 2010 8:24 pm

      Thanks for the feedback, Jen. Part of what is leaving me up in the area is the idea that if I added curtains, I would be adding some more color to the room…

  2. Jennifer permalink
    January 22, 2010 8:52 pm

    I definitely think you need a window treatment. You’re right: adding color is very important in that room. My suggestion? Make sure you mount it well above the top of the door and let it hang down to the floor. You need to vary the line in that room since the top of the door is almost the same hight as the top of the furniture piece. Also, you want to draw the eye upward because it looks like you’ve got a nice tall ceiling. Make the window/door a focal point! (Although I don’t know what’s on the other side of the window…) Is that your only backyard access point from inside the house?

    • January 24, 2010 1:08 pm

      Good thoughts…I hadn’t really realized how similar the height of the hutch was in comparison to the slider itself. But–if I hang curtains, they are going to be something I already own, and they won’t be long enough to go very high above the existing slider height. Still trying to decide…
      XOXO.
      Katie

  3. Becky permalink
    January 23, 2010 5:25 pm

    I had a similar dilemma in our dining room. I hung our curtains more for their color and decorative value than necessity. I think the right curtains can make the room feel more “Chris and Katie’s housish.”

    • January 24, 2010 1:10 pm

      I wondered how you had decided; I remembered that I had complimented you on the curtains in your dining room, so I knew you had some there. =) That’s what it’s all about though–making it feel like “ours.” Thanks for the input!!

  4. January 25, 2010 12:55 pm

    Hi Katie,

    I am really enjoying your posts!

    I think you should put the curtains up. It will not only add color, but soften the room as well; make it a little more homey and complete.

    • January 26, 2010 7:04 pm

      Thanks so much for stopping by the blog and reading my ramblings. =) And thanks for the input on the curtains. Especially with the wood floor, I think you might be on track with the idea of “softening” the room.

Leave a Reply

