Skip to content

Operation Restoration

January 20, 2010

My craft room has been in need of some serious storage.  Enter Craigslist.  It’s always hit or miss, but in this case, it was a home run that I hit out of the park.  As soon as I saw it posted, I could envision it having a fresh coat of white paint and some updated hardware.

Luckily it fit in the back of our SUV perfectly, and we brought it home.  While I’ve painted furniture white before, I was determined to do it “correctly” this time.

  1. Remove all hardware fixtures, including hinges.  Painting the hinges may save time, but keeping them their natural “metal” color really makes the furniture look like a quality piece.
  2. Sand the furniture down to remove all of the varnish/finish.

And that is as far as I’ve made it for now.  I’m really anxious to have it finished, not only to see the finished product, but so that I can get the rest of my craft room in order.

So, in this case, I have a during picture for you to take a look at:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer permalink
    January 22, 2010 8:30 pm

    Beautiful piece of furniture! I can’t wait to see the “after.” Go, Katie!

Trackbacks

  1. Operation Restoration Part 2 « Our Housetory

Leave a Reply

