Skip to content

Operation Restoration Part 2

January 24, 2010

For those of you that missed it, head on over here to check out how I scored this great find and what the first couple of steps were.  A little more than a week after I brought home this beautiful baby, the hutch is complete and is gleaming in a coat of fresh white paint.

Here’s what it looked like before:

Lest anyone think that I’m a “pro” at this DIY stuff, I submit a list of lessons learned during the course of painting this piece of furniture.

  1. Sanding is good, but may not be sufficient.  I sanded enough to provide a “rough” surface for the paint to stick to, but soon discovered I hadn’t removed enough of the varnish.  How did I find out?  The varnish continued to seep through the paint.  I used 220 grit sandpaper, and would use something more rough next time.
  2. Use primer.  For Pete’s sake, use primer.  I’ve painted furniture before, but never had a need to use primer.  I anticipated that I would need several coats of white paint to cover the hutch since the original finish was so dark, but couldn’t have anticipated the more than six total coats of paint required.  [We ended up using primer after the 4th coat].
  3. Using that many coats of paint causes problems on well built furniture.  Think about it logically–it’s going to create a “wider” or “thicker” surface.  Suffice it to say, we had a difficult time getting the doors back on the cabinets and getting the drawers to fit properly.

So, while there were definitely some moments that I was thinking this steal of a find was going to end up with a “FREE” sign on my curb, we were able to get the issues resolved and I am so glad.

The white paint looks fantastic, and the new cabinet pulls really bring it up to date.

And for those of you that are wondering why I need a hutch in my craft room, the picture below shows how perfectly everything came together.  I can’t wait to keep putting it to good use.

There’s only one project remaining for the craft room, and it will likely involve painting more furniture, and more trolling of Craigslist.  Hopefully I can use the “lessons learned” from this experience!

What about you?  Have you ever had a project that you thought you would have to get rid of when it wasn’t turning out quite the way you hoped?  Or perhaps, you’re such a pro that you have some tips to offer for furniture painting and refinishing.  I’d love to hear about your experiences!

Linking up to MMS’s Furniture Feature Friday!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    January 24, 2010 7:22 pm

    Love it! Definitely need to enlist your help when I get ready to make my craft room beautiful. (Which is of course somewhere down towards the bottom of the long list of home improvements).

  2. Barb Pond permalink
    January 24, 2010 8:03 pm

    Great job Katie–now it matches everything else in the room–and it looks like it will holds lots of goodies—even the Twinkling H2O’s:) Love ya! Barb

  3. Diana permalink
    January 25, 2010 6:01 am

    Amazing find, and super ugly as brown, and SUPER DARLING as white. LOVE IT, you are quite the crafter.

    • January 26, 2010 7:08 pm

      Thanks for the compliment, and thanks for stopping by the blog to check it out. It was seriously such a steal from Craigslist–and solid wood!!! I’m sure you’ve had quite a few craft projects going yourself, lately. 🙂

  4. June 3, 2011 11:02 am

    oooh yes. The hutch that would not die… err come out right. I started with a wood hutch that I sanded and then tacked with some Valspar paint. Sadly when I sanded the off white paint where I sanded turned YELLOW! Not the look I wanted. Then hubby was cutting something else and cut a hunk of the counter off! I lost count of how many times I painted that puppy, and how many different pieces of sandpaper in various grits I went through. I thought I would never sell it… but someone finally spotted it, fell in love and is so happy with it, it was all almost worth it!

Trackbacks

  1. New Look Part 1 « Our Housetory

Leave a Reply

