Skip to content

Who Says Hoo

February 2, 2010

It’s a new obsession.  I don’t know what it is about them, but I’ve fallen hard.  That’s right.  I’m talking about owls.  Owl stamps, owl paper, owl cards, and owl accessories.  I think they are all fantastic.  I tell you that because then you will probably understand why the newest addition to my home is so special.

Like everything else I buy, there’s a story that goes along with it, so if you’re just dying to see what the little guy looks like, go ahead and scroll on ahead.  For those of you wanting to know how he came to join us…about three weeks ago I saw this little tyke at JoAnn’s and fell in love.  As you’ve learned from reading this blog, I’m all about sales, and I boldly claim that I never buy anything (okay, maybe milk!) at full price.  This little guy was no exception–at $24.99, there was no way that I could justify bringing him home to sit on my shelf–no matter how much he was begging me with his beady little eyes.  I’m not exaggerating when I say that I thought about going back to get him at least once a day.  After a particularly exhausting morning at work, and after learning that Chris couldn’t meet me for lunch, I had decided that I would go buy my little buddy at full price.  Imagine my delight when, after running through the torrential California rain/flood, I found just two left marked at 50% off.  SCORE!  They both had some “love marks” on then after being on the shelf so long, so I picked one that wasn’t quite as well loved, knowing I would give him all the love he needed when he came home.  When the clerk at the register saw how well loved she was, she offered me another 50% off of the marked price.  Can you believe it?  I walked out with this guy for under $7.00 with tax.  He is the perfect mix of orange and brown to match the other things in our family room, and I’m so happy that I decided to splurge–and then didn’t have to!

Meet the newest addition to our family…err…shelves!

And what about you?  Scored any really good deals lately?  Or did you splurge on an accessory that you just couldn’t resist?  I know I’m not alone in this one…

And his back half:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    February 3, 2010 1:17 pm

    LOVE HIM!!! What a great deal. I have to laugh because I am also “owl obsessed”. My valentines cards this year all have owls on them. Don’t worry…you should be getting yours shortly!

    Love you guys.

Trackbacks

  1. Owl-Tastic « Our Housetory

Leave a Reply

