Skip to content

New Look Part 1

March 18, 2010

Back on January 24th, I promised you that there was one “update” left for the craft room, and that it would likely involve furniture painting and more trolling of Craigslist.

It took a little while longer than I expected, but I was finally able to find what I was looking for.  Curious what it was?  Take a look at this picture and see if you can guess.

That beautiful desk where you see my computer sitting is pretty darn handy, however, it is missing one major thing.  DRAWERS.  I have nowhere to store my junk important desk items.  When I saw this, I knew that I had the perfect solution:

The Pottery Barn two drawer file cabinet.  I actually fell in love with it when we lived at the rental, but since I had a little more room to store my precious desk accessories there, it wasn’t a problem.  However, now that I need a place to store them, I was reminded once again of this beauty.  The only problem?  Duh–Pottery Barn = EXPENSIVE!  This two drawer file cabinet was $399.00.  Let me just add that the price of that one item is more than any other piece of furniture in my craft room.

I knew that with my frugality and our budget, there was only one option: Craigslist.  I planned to find a solid wood file cabinet, sand it down, and give it a fresh coat of white paint.  Of course, now that I had resorted to Craigslist, I had another problem.  Price.  Again.  If I was going to buy it on Craigslist, I wasn’t going to spend an arm and a leg…so I’ve literally been looking for months. There were a couple of near successes (including nearly driving 40 minutes to pick one up to get a “deal”), but I was thrilled beyond belief when I found this beauty listed in our city (proximity definitely factors into value!)–listed for $25.00!!!  For solid wood!!!  I know.  I’m amazing.

I was ready to apply my newfound knowledge from my last painting project (a hutch).  So, I took my time and did the important things.

  • Remove the hardware.
  • Sand.   A lot. (The “a lot” part is what I learned last time.  If you don’t sand enough, the color of the original stain can seep up through that fresh coat of paint).

It’s here that I would like to add a tip for all of you that might be intimidated to try this on your own.  You probably think that using an automated sander is a lot of hard work, and might be complicated to figure out.  But, did you know that most sandpaper attaches to the sander using velcro?

It doesn’t get much easier than that.  You plug it in, turn it on, and go!

A tip for when you are sanding: always go with the grain of the wood, not against it.  This is how you avoid that “streaky” look when you’re finished. The wood grain on my cabinet goes from side to side on the top, and then up and down on the sides of the cabinet.

It took me a good two hours to finish sanding, but it was well worth the effort.

Stay tuned for Part 2 for details on painting solid wood furniture, and for the big reveal!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Aleen Edge permalink
    March 18, 2010 7:43 pm

    And to think you learned all of that in Miss Degler’s class! Go Katie!

  2. Jen permalink
    March 22, 2010 10:14 am

    So jealous of the nice weather that you have there so that you can sand your projects outside! Can’t wait to see the finished product…I know that it will be great.

Trackbacks

  1. New Look Part 2 « Our Housetory

Leave a Reply

