Skip to content

New Look Part 2

March 24, 2010

Today, I’m completing my update on the new look that I gave to the file cabinet I found on Craigslist.

I must admit, this job went much more smoothly than my previous experience with painting the hutch that is also in my craft room.  Details are in this post.

After I finished sanding the file cabinet (read about it here if you missed it), it was time to begin with the coats of paint.  I knew that I was already leaps and bounds ahead of where I was when I did the hutch, because I had sanded the file cabinet down until it was nearly completely rid of the original varnish/stain.  This meant that a) it wouldn’t take as many coats of paint to cover, and b) the original wood grain would really show through.

So, I set to work painting.

A couple of tips that really help:

– I used bricks to lift the file cabinet off the ground so that it would be easy to paint the edges without painting the drop cloth or the ground.

– Notice how I taped off the back of the file cabinet?  It will leave the edges looking “sharp.”

– Use thin coats of paint.  “Globbing the paint on” will result in a very painted look–which if it is the look you are trying to achieve, is good.  However, if you have spent hours scouring Craigslist for real wood (ahem!), then that probably isn’t the goal–so thin coats are best.

I used three coats of thin paint to achieve the look.

After it was all said and done, I let it air dry in the warm, California sun (yes…I have to brag…a little).  Once it was nice and dry, I brought it inside, and it looked like this:

But something was still missing…does the picture below (my inspiration piece) give a hint?

Indeed, my cabinet won’t look exactly (or perhaps even remotely) like the one that inspired the whole project…but alas, some beautiful handles on the drawers would look lovely!

I measured the space that I had for the drawer pulls (6.5 inches) and then went to the local hardware store to pick out the perfect solution.  I found the longest handles that I could find that would match the other hardware in the room (silver).  To install drawer pulls:

– Measure the distance between the screw holes on the hardware you are installing. (In my case, 3 inches).

– Then, find the center of the install location.  Split the screw hole measurement in half (1.5 inches), and measure out that distance from the center.

At this point, I would also like to share that I actually drilled all of these holes myself!  Big moments in my world, big moments.

– After you’ve drilled the holes, you insert the screws from the back, coming toward you.  Finger tighten the screws on first so that the pull will stay in place, and then finish tightening with a screwdriver.

So, lest you forget how much work this project was, I remind you of the before:

And after hours of sanding, three coats of paint, and two drawer pulls, I have exactly what I was looking for:

I’m so pleased with the way that this project turned out.  It’s the first one of its kind that I have done entirely on my own (sans the other half) and couldn’t be more proud.  The final look, which also gives you an idea of the layout in my craft room:

I’d love to hear your thoughts on how the project turned out!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    March 24, 2010 5:56 pm

    It turned out marvelous!

  2. Diana permalink
    March 24, 2010 6:22 pm

    I think you ROCKED this project. Look at you being all thrifty and crafty at the same time.

  3. March 24, 2010 6:25 pm

    Well done, Katie! It goes perfectly with your room!

  4. Barb permalink
    March 25, 2010 9:10 am

    Wow Katie–you are getting to be a pro–you better watch out or I’ll have projects for you the next time you visit–LOL! It turned out perfect and your sweat sure made it worth it–

  5. Mandy permalink
    March 25, 2010 1:01 pm

    Katie – Please come help at my house. I have things to do, but am never sure how to get started? You’re my house-project inspiration, but I need a buddy to hold me accountable.

    Wish I was there drying out in the warm CA sun as well…

Trackbacks

  1. They’ve Been Handled « Our Housetory
  2. Owl-Tastic « Our Housetory

Leave a Reply

