Skip to content

Picture This

August 22, 2010

Since the moment we bought the house, I have been dii-hu-hi-hi-hi-ing (dying!) to have pictures in our hall.  I pictured this wall filled with family photos a ton of times.  (Can you darling, can you picture this?—yeah, When Doves Cry by Prince.  Great song!).

I knew exactly what I wanted it to look like, where I wanted it to go, what pictures I wanted to hang, and how to lay it out.  The only problem?  Obviously, the cost.  Yeah. Think about how much one picture frame is.  Like a nice one.  Picture that price in your head.  Now multiply it times 7.  Because that’s about how many frames I anticipated needing.

So, when I got the latest Michael’s ad that ALL picture frames were 40%, I was thrilled.  Then, I got a special coupon that offered me 25% off all frames, including sale items.  Seriously?  What a stroke of luck!  I had been waiting 9 months to do this, and I was so excited to know that I could finally afford the project.

Here’s what the wall in the hall looked like before.  Kind of bland, right?

We chose black frames, but then we needed to decide on a layout.

I found a template and hung it on the wall.  Regrettably, it was far too large.I readjusted the template (using one page to cover ½ of the other), and then had the correct size and proportion for our wall.

Next problem?  Since I didn’t want to buy the frames from the manufacturer of the template, they weren’t going to fill the holes exactly.  Next step?  We made a couple of quick notes about what size frames we needed to purchase (we already had two), and headed to Michael’s to put the coupon to good use.

We brought the frames home, and took the template off the wall. (I am beginning to realize as I type this that my obsession with perfectionism will quickly shine through).  We laid the template on the floor, and then laid the frames on the template.

With a little bit of adjusting, we had confirmed the layout we were happy with.  Now, how to transfer that exact layout to the wall, and make sure everything lined up perfectly and in a straight line?  You probably wouldn’t believe it unless I showed you.  So here you go:

Yes, we traced around the picture frames, and then cut the shapes out.  Then, we hung the “paper picture frames” on the wall.  This was seriously so perfect that I can’t even tell you.  Because, not only did it allow us to make sure that everything was straight, but we were able to measure where to put the nails, and draw it on the paper (rather than the wall).

This whole process went so smoothly that I almost didn’t believe it until we were done.

Check out the finished product:

And another view to get a little different perspective:

What do you think?  Have you ever thought about making a picture collage, but were worried that it might be a little messy?  Have a bare wall that you’re dying to try this out on?  I’d love to hear about it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2010 10:36 pm

    Brilliant! I will have to remember this if I ever put our pix up in the hallway. Now that I know that there is a way to do it, I won’t have to be such a chicken about it!

  2. Jen permalink
    August 23, 2010 6:31 am

    We are so taking another picture of the “Pond Family” when you all are out here this weekend, because I see that you still are displaying the one with church-lady (aka – Me) and Dad with the creepy eyes. We all look so much better than that!

    I love your wall. We are planning on doing the same thing with our hallway, but need to get a few more frames to put up. Guess I’ll be taking a trip to Michael’s this week.

    –Jen

Leave a Reply

