Skip to content

Picking Paint

September 10, 2010

It’s a teaser really.  It’s not the whole story, because we’re only ½ way through the book. We’re painting our house, and we’re 12 hours in and 50% done. That, in and of itself, is an accomplishment.

My favorite quotes about this experience thus far:

Co-Worker: “You can paint a house yourself? I didn’t know you could do that.”

Me: “If I had known how hard this was before we started, we never would have started.”

Neighbor 1: “How am I going to find my way home at night now? I always used to know I lived by the pink house.”

Neighbor 2: “Your house looks bigger, no -seriously!”

Chris: “We could totally knock this out in a weekend.”

Here’s a reminder of what the house looked like before.

Our HOA has 57 approved paint schemes. Technically, it’s more like 20 approved colors of brown or beige for the house with permutations based on the beige, white, and tan trim. You have my word: the color that we have chosen is in the sampling you see below. Any guesses? [No cheating–if you already know the name of the color, don’t guess!].

We can’t wait–not only to show you the final product, but to actually be done!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    September 10, 2010 7:27 pm

    cafe au lait?

  2. September 10, 2010 7:31 pm

    Momma–That’s not even the name of one of the colors! Haha…you’re supposed to pick a number. It took me like 10 minutes to get that AWFUL version of the photo with the numbers on it. Pick a number! =) Love you!

    • Mom permalink
      September 11, 2010 5:13 am

      I know, but numbers are so boring! 🙂 Okay, I’ll play fair #2.

  3. Diana permalink
    September 11, 2010 8:01 am

    I pick #4 Looks like you need a cafe vodka latte with a BIG douse of whipped cream laced vodka. Gene and I decided that somethings we were willing to do on our own Painting is not one of them. We had my brother Danny come in and he painted the whole interior in 34 hours and never taped one thing off and I have no drips, drops, smudges. Sometimes it is worth it. Oh BTW what he wanted in return “concrete counter tops” done by Jon we worked that out well. he he

  4. Katie permalink
    September 11, 2010 10:05 am

    How fun! #1? I love that u have made this a game! I can see any of those colors looking great!

  5. September 11, 2010 3:50 pm

    I’m guessing #2. Can’t wait to see how it turns out!

  6. September 13, 2010 10:04 am

    Sorry for my late weigh-in but was gone this weekend… Anyways, I want to guess #3 — that’s the same color as our house!

Trackbacks

  1. It Matches « Our Housetory
  2. Paint Perfection-The Big Reveal! « Our Housetory

Leave a Reply

