Skip to content

It Matches

September 12, 2010

Well, for those of you dying to see the “after” pictures of the painted house, you will have to wait a little while longer.  We still have some final touch-ups to do, and waiting to share the results with our friends and family keeps us motivated and on-track to complete all the finishing touches.  We have finished the house itself, and still have a couple of retaining walls to paint.  For those of you who haven’t already, make sure to head over to this post and guess which color we chose.  There just might be a treat in there for one of you who guesses the right color!

In the meantime, I had to share with you a guaranteed way to make sure that you can bring home artwork to your home and say, “It matches!”

Okay, so I can’t take credit for the idea itself.  While Chris and I were in Denver for his Grandmom’s 90th birthday (I know you’re reading this Grandmom–we love you!), the ladies of the family took the chance to head over to “Canvas and Cocktails” in Denver.  Much to my delight, it was a fantastic experience.  We arrived in the morning, set our paint cards and brushes at our designated table since we had made reservations, and then picked up our mimosa (which was included in our $35 class fee).

The experience itself took several hours, and I have to say, I wasn’t planning on keeping the canvas, let alone liking it.  After all, while these colors would go in some people’s homes, they just wouldn’t go in mine:

However, once the music started kicking (wow–do they have energy in that place!), I thought, “Hmm…maybe I could make this work.”  Seriously–look at how many people are there!  There is no way NOT to catch the spirit!

So, with a little encouragement from the family, I decided to paint the picture in colors that would match my master bedroom.

Of course, they walk you though how to paint the picture step by step:

When we were finished, the rest of the group (of course, sans my uber creative sister-in-law who painted pears and so isn’t pictured!), and I held up our paintings to commemorate the moment:

You can tell that I was pretty pleased with my creation, and I was actually able to bring it home on the plane as a carry-on!

Not only was I pleased, but when the other half saw it he said, “Honey!  That’s really good!”  (Of course, his shock and awe that I could actually paint something like this would have been more disheartening had I not been so shocked myself!)

And so after its long travel from CO to CA, here it is in all it’s glory–above the throne:

See?  “It Matches!” So, what do you think?  Should I quit my day job?  Just kidding…although I must admit it has inspired me to tackle other canvas projects–so expect more on that soon!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    September 13, 2010 5:29 am

    Ohhh, so now I know what ‘cha were doing in that other picture. I like it!

  2. Jen permalink
    September 13, 2010 9:09 am

    Katie…It looks great in there. Thanks for sharing. I put my pear picture up in my kitchen, but it looks a little lost so when I have time I am going to paint a corresponding “fruit” picture to place next to it.

    I had a great time painting with you…we’ll have to do it again sometime!

  3. barb pond permalink
    September 29, 2010 12:09 pm

    You found just the right spot! What an artist and we did have lots of fun!

Trackbacks

  1. Owl-Tastic « Our Housetory
  2. Nearly Picasso « Our Housetory

Leave a Reply

