Skip to content

Be It Therefore Resolved…I Mean Achievable…

January 5, 2011

How do we get things done around this place?  Sometimes with all the hustle and bustle of church, work, school, and friends, I wonder how we do it.  Let the following provide just a little insight…and let me preface it by saying, “I’m not perfect.  Just ask my husband.” 🙂 In fact, I can be kind of a stinker (like when I don’t want my picture taken).

But the point is, even though I’m not perfect, I found what works for me:

I don’t believe in New Year’s Resolutions.  I really don’t.  I know.  I seem like the type of person that would.  I tried it a couple of times.  And I failed miserably.

There are a lot of definitions for a “resolution” none of which lead me to believe that I should begin anew with making a list of such resolutions.  Really?  “Firm determination”—“A formal expression or intention made.”  Really?  That’s going to help me be a better person this year? And to me, that was really all it was: I was firmly determined to do something like eat less fast food, or read more books, or spend more time with friends.

Now?  At the beginning of each year I have goals.  That’s right.  Goals.  I am not “resolved” to be more healthy this year.  Instead, I have a goal of running a ½ marathon this year (see #4 and #5 below—now I’m in big trouble if I don’t do this!). Big shout-out to my sister-in-law, Jen (pictured at right below), who is on board–Long Beach–October–here we come!

But back to the matter at hand.  Below you’ll see the how and the why for me–why I choose goals rather than resolutions.

1)      I categorize my goals into specific groups: Spiritual, Health, Personal, Craft, Home, and Financial.

2)      I create a plan.  It’s not enough to have a goal without a plan to achieve it.

3)      I make my goals measurable.  How was I ever going to measure that I was “more healthy?”  That’s right, I wasn’t.  I was setting myself up for failure.

4)      I write them down.  Yep—there’s no saying, “That’s not what I really meant” when I wrote it down.

5)      I tell someone about them.  Accountability, anyone?

6)      Set a time limit.  When will I achieve it by?

7)      I’m realistic.  There’s no way I’m going to achieve 10 goals in each little category I create, so why bother?  I choose two or three for each category.

So, I won’t be sharing all of my goals here, because the point of this little “Housetory” is the “history” and “story” of our house, along with the memories and stories that happen inside it.

But, I will share our GOALS for our home this year:

1)      Install new windows.  (Okay: so technically this is more like making a to-do list.  I like to cheat and have one item to check off so that I know I can accomplish it. The truth comes out.  Good for me!).

2)      Get a quote for bathroom renovation. (Do I think we can actually re-do the bathroom this year?  Heck-to-the-naw!)

3)      Develop a plan for sprinkler installation.  (Might they get installed?  Perhaps.  But it’s a lot more likely to happen if we actually have a plan for getting it done).

4)      Window coverings for the front windows.

And as for the rest of our home GOALS?  Well, you’ll just have to stay tuned to find out!  I have to leave a little bit to the imagination, right?

What about you?  Any new goals or (gasp!) resolutions that you have for 2011?  I’d love to hear what you’re up to!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

