Skip to content

Let ‘er Rip

February 1, 2011

If you’ve ever been to our house, even one time, you’ve probably encountered this disaster.  So…a quick guessing game–guess which object in our house has been the subject of these comments:

“I was waiting for you to get home.  How do you work this thing?” (Visiting friend from Colorado)

“Is there a trick to this?” (Friends on girls’ night)

“Can you show me how to use this?” (family)

“I almost bought you a new one of these for Christmas.” (neighbor)

“AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!” (Chris)

If you guessed our paper towel holder, you guessed correctly.  Seriously, we registered for this beautiful brushed steel holder for our wedding.  And it was beautiful.  Regrettably, that was about it.  NOBODY, and I do mean NOBODY, could ever successfully pull a paper towel off this thing without it ripping into little shreds.  Sad, sad, excuse for a paper towel holder.  See that handy “holder” arm on the left?  Yeah?  You see it. NOT so handy!

So when one of my girlfriends sent me a text message with a picture of the Costco coupon book, conveniently zoomed in on the coupon for the paper towel holder, I took the hint.  It only took five years. So I sent her this text message photo back:

Yep.  I really did.  And here it is in our house, in all its glory:

Don’t lie.  You can’t wait to get to my house and try it out now.

And for those of you that read all the way to the end, thanks for humoring me.  Little things are sometimes big deals around this place, especially when it is a nuisance you have been putting up with for five years.

And, in case you’re dying to try out that old paper towel holder, it could be YOURS at our next garage sale!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lani Palmer permalink
    February 22, 2011 5:42 pm

    We have this from Costco too! LOVE it! 🙂

  2. February 26, 2011 8:38 pm

    This is awesome. Made me laugh out loud. I’m so happy you got a new one. =) I really just thought I didn’t know what I was doing. 😉

Leave a Reply

