Skip to content

Light, Bright, and Airy

March 21, 2011

You might remember a little post back in January saying that I don’t believe in New Year’s resolutions, because, instead, I believe in goals.  I then proceeded to give you a list of goals that we hoped to accomplish this year.

I’m pleased to say we have officially crossed something else off the list!

1)      Install new windows.  (Okay: so technically this is more like making a to-do list.  I like to cheat and have one item to check off so that I know I can accomplish it. The truth comes out.  Good for me!).

2)      Get a quote for bathroom renovation. (Do I think we can actually re-do the bathroom this year?  Heck-to-the-naw!)

3)      Develop a plan for sprinkler installation.  (Might they get installed?  Perhaps.  But it’s a lot more likely to happen if we actually have a plan for getting it done).

4)      Window coverings for the front windows.

For those of you wondering why window coverings for the front windows are such a big deal, let’s put it this way: our neighbors could wave to us from their front window when we were sitting in the dining room.  For those of you that know our floorplan, you know that’s saying a lot.  And while we’re close to our neighbors (though not as close as the ones that have “walked in on each other”—true story!), my dream was to be able to walk by the front window wearing absolutely nothing if my little heart desired it.  Mostly that’s a function of the fact that you have to walk by our front window to access the laundry room.  But you get the point.

This was not an easy process—which is complicated by the fact that it is two windows sit on a 90 degree angle.  Like so:

Let me start by saying that I envisioned these beautiful, custom made curtains with solid brown silk and orange damask pattern.  I even went so far as to buy some brown (faux) silk for said curtain sewing process.  It was on sale for about 60% off at JoAnn’s.  Of course, I was also adamant that I wanted double curtains: sheers + orange/brown panels.  So when I found the sheer curtains on sale at Target for $10 for 4 panels, I was sold.  Total investment so far?  Not too bad, but more than I’d like to admit since in the next sentence, I’m going to tell you that we scrapped the entire plan.  So I scrapped the entire plan.  I realized a couple of things: 1) Not owning your own sewing machine = no custom curtains. 2) Corner windows require corner connector pieces = Very hard to find for double curtain rods 3) Orange and Brown Curtains = EXPENSIVE!

But for the record, we did find orange and brown curtains we loved.  Apparently it’s a new trend; one that I would like to humbly point out that I was on the leading edge of.  We considered options like this (and considered only briefly at $49.99/panel from Bed Bath and Beyond):

And then, one day, I stumbled across this room suggestion which inspired me to rethink my curtain ideas.  Technically, it was more like an intentional search than a stumble.

…This is where you should imagine me carefully explaining to the husband that the orange and brown curtains are sooooooooo out, and then light, airy curtains would be so amazing in our space.

So let’s go ahead and contemplate that for a little bit.  What would cause me to change my mind?  One day, looking around the house, I started thinking, “Hmm…it could start feeling heavy with all this dark wood.”  I was also worried “heavy” (literally and figuratively) curtains would weigh down the small room which is already overloaded with furniture, and could make the room look dated, whereas light and airy curtains would really modernize it.

We visited Penny’s to see the curtains that I saw in the room suggestion board.

They didn’t have them in stock but we were able to see and touch the sample in the book, which was enough to convince us that the texture was more similar to the texture for those old school folding chairs than of a modern and airy family room.

So we continued the hunt for bright and airy curtains, and found quite a few we liked.  Prices were prohibitive (since we needed 4 panels).

In the end, we were in complete agreement on some beautiful WHITE (yes, mom, I hear you gasping out loud!) curtains from Cost Plus World Market.  And at $25/panel, it screamed “I’M AFFORDABLE!!!  TAKE ME HOME!!!”  I say “it” not “they” because we had to drive to several stores to find enough panels.  So technically, to begin with, it was just that one panel screaming at us.

I’m so proud that we chose white.  It’s so completely not “us” and so completely impractical—that it makes absolutely sense.

Now that they’re installed, let me tell you what I love: they completely cut the glare on the tv, they still allow enough light through so that the room isn’t depressing if you close the curtains during the day, and the white is oh-so-perfect.

 

Another reason for choosing white?  The paint color we’ve selected for the rest of the house.  But that, my friends and family, is another story you’ll have to wait to see unfold.

Have you ever made a decorating decision that seemed out of character for you, and then you fell in love with it?  We’d love to hear about it!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2011 8:44 am

    I love your white curtains! They look very welcoming. We have windows like this in our bedroom. But they had white wood blinds in them when we moved in so I’ve left them alone. But I have been thinking about trying to find some kind of curtain for them to soften them up a bit. Where did you find the corner curtain rod?

    I actually painted a wall in my house red. Which is so not me. I am a neutral, light colored wall, kind of person. But I absolutely love it!

    • March 27, 2011 8:34 pm

      Hi Wendy! I can’t believe I didn’t explain how we handled the window…talk about forgetful!

      We actually ended up buying two individual curtain rods, and then purchased the “corner connector” from the matching set. We like the selection best at Bed, Bath, and Beyond, though plenty of other places seem to have the same thing. Most corner connectors average around $10 from what I saw.

      The only warning here is that if you walls aren’t perfectly 90 degrees (our aren’t), then it might involve a little bit of wiggling to get everything to connect properly. Make sure to measure the two brackets in the 90 degree corner to allow enough room for both of them to stick out from the wall without running into each other. =)
      Hugs,
      Katie

  2. Diana permalink
    March 21, 2011 9:23 am

    Love the white it looks so fresh, also notice that you did incorporate the orange with brown damasks on the pillow, beautiful touch.

  3. March 21, 2011 10:03 am

    White is definitely the way to go. Love it, Katie.

  4. Barb Pond permalink
    March 21, 2011 11:34 am

    Katie–The drapes look great and with all the sun you have there, I think the light color is a great idea–brightens up the place–I was just thinking about changing the drapes in our bedroom and was considering cream or white—good choice!

  5. Lani Palmer permalink
    March 24, 2011 6:18 am

    Don’t feel bad about the white–I have two–soon to be 3–kids and almost all of my curtains are white. I LOVE them and how they brighten the room and complement all the white trim and doors in our house. In fact, my curtains in my living room and kitchen look just like the ones you bought except they’re from IKEA. And way to cross off your list! 🙂

    • March 27, 2011 8:35 pm

      Thanks, Lani. Love that you have the same solution for keeping things looking fresh! We looked at the ones at IKEA, but the only ones I could find had unfinished hems, and I’m no seamstress–and the hem tape has been a bit of a struggle for me in the past! Can’t wait to hear (and see) all about #3!
      Katie

Leave a Reply

