Skip to content

New Neighbors, Construction, and Babies

March 27, 2011

We’re getting new neighbors.  Again.  The thing is this: we had neighbors exactly like this before.  We didn’t notice when they were doing construction, but BOY did we notice when they had moved in.  I mean, seriously.  There was no avoiding the fact that they had finished construction, and they were here to stay.  All of the kids got up stinking EARLY in the morning, and there was no way we could avoid knowing they were awake.  And what do you say?  Seriously?  “Hi, we’re your neighbors, I know you just moved in, but seriously, your children are annoying?”  Yeah, I didn’t.  Don’t worry.

So this time, needless to say, I’m more than a little nervous about these new neighbors.  Here’s what makes it even worse: the kids haven’t even arrived yet because the construction is ongoing, but I already know these kids are going to be exactly the same as the last ones.  So, I said to Chris, “Should I go do something?”  Seriously, he’s such a tenderheart.  As crazy as the previous neighbors drove him that were JUST, and I repeat JUST like this, he didn’t want me to do anything that might kick them out.

No–we’re not awful people, we’re just not great at sharing our space.  Especially the space directly and I do mean directly outside of our bedroom window.  Like I said, we caught ’em in the act of construction this time, and I snuck a little video so that you could see exactly what I mean:

Last year, the momma bird and the daddy bird (yes, I’m not kidding you–it was the daddy bird) took turns with the eggs, and we had 3 little chicks.  They were always hungry around six ‘o clock in the morning.  No big deal unless you don’t normally get out of bed until 7:15.  Which we don’t.

In any event, I really did ask Chris if he wanted me to scare off the two (yes, I said TWO!) momma birds who were building the nests on our back patio area.  Nope. Not a chance.  I have a feeling that in a little while, at around 6 in the morning, he’ll be regretting that decision.

In the meantime, we’ll keep you posted on how BOTH nests are doing, though you can only see one in the video.  We’re expecting babies out there soon!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    March 28, 2011 7:43 am

    Some of the people around here have put chicken-wire up in the eaves of their patios to keep the little birdies out. Probably can’t do it now, but perhaps next year.

  2. Mom permalink
    March 28, 2011 7:16 pm

    They also do a mesh thng under the rafters at Costco…you may want to check that out too! If all else fails, get ear plugs! 🙂

  3. Diana permalink
    March 29, 2011 6:02 am

    AWWWWWWW how sweet is that

  4. Alicia Cline permalink
    March 31, 2011 5:20 am

    My aunt gets baby birds every year, they are noisy but also fun to watch! Hope they inspire you this year and not drive you crazy.

    • April 1, 2011 1:39 pm

      Thanks, Alicia! We do enjoy watching them; last year we could see their little beaks peeking up over the edge of the nest waiting to be fed. It’s the noise I could do without. 😉 Once the babies are here this year, I’m hoping to catch another video to share!

  5. May 22, 2011 8:30 pm

    I loved this post! Swear I commented, but must not have saved it. =) Such a cute story.

Leave a Reply

