Skip to content

Can Frames be Sexy?

March 29, 2011

For those of you that read lots of blogs in the “blog land” you have probably noticed that one of the very popular things to do is to spray paint things white.  Anything, and everything.  I’ve noticed that people are really enjoying painting knick knacks and paddy whacks white.  Okay, so really only knick knacks.  They paint ceramic elephants white, and candle sticks white, and cups white.  I don’t have anything against using a little bit of spray paint.  After all, it’s an economical way to take things that don’t match, and make them fit your space.

In this project, I decided to put my own twist on the whole concept of using spray paint.  It started with these beautiful red, ceramic peacocks that I found at the Great Indoors; they were bright red, and perfect.  I wanted them “badly”, but not $65.00 each “badly.”  Enter the idea to spray paint something red to match the décor in our master bedroom.

When I saw these frames, I knew that I had found the right solution, and at $6.99 a pop, it was an affordable risk to take.  I loved the way they were ornate, and I could envision the contrast that would be created by painting them red.

So, after removing all the hardware (take the screws out–there’s no reason to paint them too), I set to work.  Make sure the area is well prepared and covered, so that any over-spray doesn’t damage something else.

(And yes–I am totally sporting a t-shirt from 2002.  Don’t be jealous of how up-to-date my wardrobe is).

A couple of tips for you:

1) This set-up above didn’t work so well, so we reverted to our old “tried and true” spray paint technique.  Hang something up using a hanger, cover the area behind it, and paint away.  That way you can paint the front and the back at the same time.

2) The clear coat spray paint, which we were hoping would create a cool “lacquer” look, actually just caused the recently dried red spray paint to “un-dry” and caused a drippy mess.  We re-sprayed with red and were happy with the look.

3) Keep your arm moving while painting.  Chris is a pro at this.

I’ll give credit where it is due on this one.  I finished the first frame, and then the other two were sitting.  For AWHILE.  I only did one because in case it was ruined, I wanted to be able to return the others, or use them “as-is” in our master bedroom.  Enter SUPER-Chris!!!! While I was laid up with a migraine, he finished the other two.

Here’s the finished result.  And for the record, no, they are not all sitting on the same nightstand.  We actually have one 4×6 on each nightstand, and the 5×7 is on our dresser.

If you’re impressed with the picture on the far left or the far right, check out Wendy Rueter Photography.

What do you think?  Like I said, “Can frames be sexy?”  Because I find myself answering with a resounding, “Heck yes!” to this one.

Though, I must admit that I now find myself trying to find more reasons to spray paint things.  Now if only I could find some orange spray paint that matched our family room…then I could do some serious damage.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Diana permalink
    March 30, 2011 5:55 am

    You know me, ANYTHING red is super HOT!!!!

  2. June 1, 2011 4:52 pm

    Oh, I love those frames! And thank you for the mention!

Leave a Reply

