Skip to content

Bringing Back Glam

May 30, 2011

I posted a hint on Facebook earlier today about our most recent project…were you able to guess what it was?

With this latest project, we decided it was time to bring back a little bit of glamour…Hollywood style.

As I’ve explained in previous posts, we’ve been concerned that our “traditional” style has leaned a little bit too far that way, particularly in the family room: we have dentil molding, damask patterned pillows, dark wood furniture, lighted bookshelves…I mean really–it had definitely become a little more traditional than we ever intended.  We’ve changed that up recently–by bringing in bright and airy white curtains, and some other accessories (which I haven’t yet posted about!).

This latest project was definitely an intentional purpose.  We used to have a picture of the two of us hanging above the fireplace.  Which was great.  Except that we always take pictures in front of the fireplace.  That mean that every picture we took had a picture of us kissing on our wedding day in the background.

Like this…(Chris’ birthday nearly a year ago)…see how distracting that is?

So, we quickly moved the picture elsewhere in the family room once we realized how distracting it was, and I concluded I needed a BIG, huge, round mirror to hang above the fireplace.  No big deal, right?  Except for the fact that like everything else, there are always two problems: 1) I have expensive taste and 2) it usually involves work for Chris.  Bahaha.  But it’s true.

I knew I wanted something really modern, and when I found this beauty at Home Goods for an unbelievable price, I knew we had to take it.  It was everything I was looking for: modern, interesting, and detailed.  And, after all, the price addressed problem #1.  Of course, as you can see from the picture below, that meant #2 was definitely still in play.

Yeah.  It was gold.  YIKES!  It is just not my taste.  My sister can attest to the fact that I REFUSED to wear yellow gold jewelry until about three years ago.  Because I was so sure that it wasn’t cool.  And while I may now have accepted the fact that it looks great with my wardrobe, I’m not even CLOSE to hanging it on my walls.  (P.S. I don’t foresee that changing).

Might I add, I really do love how my husband looks at me in these situations (you know, the ones where I am suggesting that we buy something new, and in perfect condition, and take it home and screw with it, potentially ruining it) and says, “Sure, babe.  That would be really fun and I bet it would turn out great.”  Seriously.  He does.

And so the prepping for the coat of white spray paint began.  We started by putting 1″ blue painters tape right up against the edge of the mirror.  Then we cut out a piece of paper to cover the center and taped that down using painters tape.

Once that was done, it was time to coat it with white spray paint.  Chris rocks at this.  Honestly.  I don’t even try.  He says it is years of practice.

It was only once the project was done that I got a small hint that during our tip to Home Goods Chris might NOT actually have been so certain about my idea…

Scene: Mirror has been spray painted white.  Project took less than an hour from start to finish.

Chris: It actually looks good.

Katie: Yeah?

Chris:  You’re such a visionary.  It turned out really good.

Ha!  I’ll take it.

Without further ado, the finished look for your viewing pleasure…I think it brings just another touch of glamour and modernity back to this room.  I couldn’t be more pleased with the result.  Well, maybe a little.  We hung it a tad high.  Hey!  I’m a perfectionist…what can I say?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara Pond permalink
    May 30, 2011 9:00 pm

    Awesome! It really adds pizzazz to the room! Katie, you rock!

  2. May 31, 2011 5:28 am

    Looks great, Katie! (and I’m totally with you on the gold thing…except it still hasn’t touched my body since my parents stopped buying it for me! ha!) 🙂

  3. Jen permalink
    June 1, 2011 2:27 pm

    Nice to see that my old college “hand me down” sheets are being put to good use. The mirror looks great!

  4. June 1, 2011 4:38 pm

    Katie, it looks fantastic! Makes me think I need something new over my mantle 🙂

Leave a Reply

